Letting Go

The auto auction that sells the cars donated for WFDD was scheduled to come by in the morning to pick up Dana’s car. I got a call this evening, however, asking if they could possibly come tonight. They just left, towing Dana’s Buick behind them…and I am sitting here bawling.

I didn’t realize how hard it would hit me to see Dana’s car go. I guess it was just such a symbolic representation of Dana. It was dependable, reliable, old-fashioned, and had some parts that didn’t work so well. It was shiny on the outside, and stained and worn on the inside. And it had stopped running a few months ago. All it really needed was a battery, but since Dana couldn’t drive, and I preferred my Hyundai, it just sat and deteriorated.

I know I made the best decision in donating it to WFDD, a station that Dana and I listened to frequently (when not on Sirius XM), but I just didn’t realize how hard it would be to let go. It’s just a car, but it was so Dana. He loved his Buicks, starting with the one we inherited from my mother (which ended up with Scott Brown eventually). I just didn’t figure on the tears.

Leave a comment